Join us for the 18th Eigenvector University in Seattle May 6-10, 2024 Complete Info Here!

EVRI-thing You Need to Know About Gray Classical Least Squares

March 30, 2023


Join us on Thursday, March 30 for “EVRI-thing You Need to Know About Gray Classical Least Squares.” Eigenvector Research President Barry M. Wise will present.

When used with spectroscopic systems that follow the Lambert-Beer law CLS models follow naturally from first principles. Unfortunately, CLS models typically do not have the predictive ability of inverse least squares (ILS) models such as Partial Least Squares (PLS) regression: the prediction error of CLS models is usually higher, and often notably so. Gray Classical Least Squares (Gray-CLS) combines a first principles CLS model with a filter based on the CLS residuals. This produces a model with predictive ability similar to PLS models. In this webinar we’ll cover

  • The Classical Least Squares (CLS) model
  • Different ways to generate CLS residuals
  • Filters
  • — Generalized Least Squares Weighting (GLSW)
  • — External Parameter Orthogonalization (EPO)
  • Combining Filters and CLS–Gray CLS
  • Example results and diagnostics
  • Using the Grey-CLS tool in PLS_Toolbox/Solo 9.2

A question and answer session will follow the webinar. Don’t miss your chance to quiz Barry and the Eigen-Guys about how to access Gray CLS models in PLS_Toolbox and Solo 9.2!

Register for “EVRI-thing You Need to Know About Gray Classical Least Squares” through your existing Eigenvector account, or create one. The webinar is free, but you must register to attend. Find the webinar near the bottom of the page under the “Purchase” tab.

The webinar will be live on Thursday, March 30 at 7:00am PDT, (that’s 16:00 CET, 10:00 EDT). Reserve your seat today and we’ll send you a WebEx meeting invitation a couple days before the event. We hope you can attend, but if you sign up and can’t make it, we’ll send you a link to view the recording the day after the webinar.