Eigenvector University Europe is in Rome, ITALY October 14-17, 2024 Complete Info Here!

LCVSF 2020 Scholarships Announced

Aug 4, 2020

The Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Fund has announced 15 award recipients for 2020. The scholarships go to college bound seniors from Chelan Valley schools including Chelan High School and Manson High School, and also renewals for previous award recipients. This year’s crop includes three graduates from this year’s MHS class: Brenda J. Alonso Arreola, Nadia Tejada and Bryce LaMar; five from CHS: Casey Simpson, Tobin Wier, Eli Phelps, Emma McLaren, and Kyle Jackson; and seven renewals: Colt Corrigan, Henry Elsner, Jessica Oules, Jasmine Negrete, Joe Strecker, Sierra Rothlisberger, and Quinn Stamps.

Each recipient will receive $2500 for a total of $37,500 in awards this year. COVID restrictions permitting, checks will be presented to the recipients at the flagpole at Chelan Riverwalk Park at 9am, Saturday, August 8.

LCVSF Board President Betsy Kronschnabel noted “As the years go by, I continue to be impressed with how the majority of applicants are focused on their future plans and have already established clear pathways to their goals. We are really happy to be able to help them move forward.” 

The LCVSF was made possible by Doug and Eva Dewar, who wished that their estates be used to help the children of the Chelan Valley. LCVSF was founded in 1991, and in that year five scholarships in the amount of $1000 each were awarded. The fund has grown substantially over the years from contributions from many people, but especially significant contributions from John Gladney, Ray Bumgardner, Don & Betty Schmitten, Marion McFadden, Virginia Husted, the Dick Slaugenhaupt Memorial and Irma Keeney.  Now in its 30th year, LCVSF has awarded over $625,000 to Chelan Valley students since its inception.

LCVSF accepts applications from residents of the Chelan valley for undergraduate education. The awards are renewable for up to four years. LCVSF welcomes applications from graduating high school seniors as well as current college students and adults returning to school.

The LCVSF board includes Betsy Kronschnabel (President), Arthur Campbell, III, Linda Mayer (Secretary), Sue Clouse, Barry M. Wise, Ph.D. and John Pleyte, M.D. (Treasurer). For further information, please contact Barry Wise at bmw@eigenvector.com.

Tags: lakechelanscholarships