Eigenvector University Europe is in Rome, ITALY October 14-17, 2024 Complete Info Here!

Lake Chelan Valley Scholarships for 2021 Announced

Aug 3, 2021

For 2021 the Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Fund (LCVSF) will award 18 scholarships to college bound seniors and previous awardees currently attending. Recipients are from Chelan Valley schools including Chelan High School (CHS) and Manson High School (MHS). Included this year are three graduates from MHS class of ’21: Jonathan Fernandez, Cody Fitzpatrick and Zoe Thomas; seven members of CHS class of ’21: Cash Corrigan, Adrian J. Martinez, Nancy Carmona Palestino, Nancy Perez, Aden Slade, Dayana Vega-Ramirez and Ruby Wier; and eight renewals: Alvaro Arteaga, Emma McLaren, Olivia Nygreen, Sierra Rothlisberger, Casey Simpson, Joe Strecker, Addi Torgesen and Tobin Wier. Ms. Rothlisberger and Mr. Simpson are designated as the Betty Schmitten Art Scholarship recipients.

Each recipient will receive $2750 for a total of $49,500 in awards this year. Checks will be presented to the recipients at the flagpole at Chelan Riverwalk Park at 10 am, Saturday, August 7. 

Board member Dr. John Pleyte reflected on this year’s recipients, “We had a very good group of applicants this year, and we were especially impressed with the renewals. It’s great to see these scholars transition successfully from high school to college, and also from community college to four year schools.”

The LCVSF was made possible by Doug and Eva Dewar, who wished that their estates be used to help the children of the Chelan Valley. LCVSF was founded in 1991, and in that year five scholarships in the amount of $1000 each were awarded. The fund has grown substantially over the years from contributions from many people, but especially significant contributions from John Gladney, Ray Bumgardner, Don & Betty Schmitten, Marion McFadden, Virginia Husted, the Dick Slaugenhaupt Memorial and Irma Keeney.  Now in its 31th year, LCVSF has awarded over $675,000 to Chelan Valley students since its inception. 

LCVSF accepts applications from residents of the Chelan valley for undergraduate education. The awards are renewable for up to four years. LCVSF welcomes applications from graduating high school seniors as well as current college students and adults returning to school.

The LCVSF board includes Betsy Kronschnabel (President), Arthur Campbell, III, Linda Mayer (Secretary), Sue Clouse, Barry M. Wise, Ph.D. and John Pleyte, M.D. (Treasurer). For further information, please contact Barry Wise at bmw@eigenvector.com.