Eigenvector University Europe is in Rome, ITALY October 14-17, 2024 Complete Info Here!

Lake Chelan Valley Scholarships for 2018 Announced

Jul 31, 2018

The Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Foundation (LCVSF) will award 18 scholarships in the amount of $2500 each. The recipients include three members of Chelan’s Class of 2018: Ahimelec Diaz, Gage Martin and Madeline Peebles; six members of Manson’s Class of 2018: Alyssa La Mar, Veronica Lulo, Jessica Medina, Joe Strecker, Adeleine Torgesen and Magali Vargas; and nine renewals by previous recipients: Neil Carleton, Henry Elsner, Melena Evig, Delacy Machus, Anabeth Morales, Jessica Oules, Abbigail Phelps, Zachary Phelps and Bethany Trusel.

“The nine successful renewals show that most of our previous recipients are doing well in college, and we’re certainly glad to see that” noted LCVSF board member Barry Wise. “This year’s batch of new awards included several students with quite compelling stories of overcoming hardships to get through high school and successfully apply for college. It is always humbling to read these. We’re happy to help make it just a bit easier for these kids to continue in school.”

The awards will be presented at Riverwalk Park on Saturday, August 11 at 10am. Please join us to celebrate the achievements of these young scholars.

The LCVSF was made possible by Doug and Eva Dewar, who wished that their estates be used to help the children of the Chelan Valley. LCVSF was founded in 1991, and in that year five scholarships in the amount of $1000 each were awarded. The fund has grown substantially over the years from contributions from many people, but especially significant contributions from John Gladney, Ray Bumgardner, Don & Betty Schmitten, Marian McFadden, Virginia Husted, the Dick Slaugenhaupt Memorial and Irma Keeney. This year’s scholarships total $45,000.

LCVSF accepts applications from residents of the Chelan valley for undergraduate education. The awards are renewable for up to four years. LCVSF welcomes applications from graduating high school seniors as well as current college students and adults returning to school.

The LCVSF board includes Betsy Kronschnabel (President), Arthur Campbell, III, Linda Mayer (Secretary), Sue Clouse, Barry M. Wise, Ph.D. and John Pleyte, M.D. (Treasurer). For further information, please contact Barry Wise at bmw@eigenvector.com.